2018 Club Membership Open

Fri, 22 December 2017
Daventry Man wins Viridian Dav...

Tue, 19 September 2017
Race Rewards

Sun, 10 September 2017
Race Entries to Close on Sept ...

Thu, 07 September 2017
Interview with Tom Welch

Fri, 11 August 2017
This Girl Can...Do Triathlon

Mon, 20 February 2017

Bond Triumphs at Daventry Sprint Triathlon

Daventry resident Jack Bond, triumphed at the third Daventry Sprint Triathlon on August 31st by taking the overall men’s honours for the second year running and winning his age group (U18), in a very fast 57:54.

Nicola Wood was the fastest lady completing the 400m swim, 20k cycle and 5k run in 1:10:37. And the best relay team led by Marcia Archer turned in a time of 1:18:23.

Councillor Alan Hills, Daventry District Council’s Community, Culture & Leisure Portfolio Holder said: “This was another really fantastic triathlon and it was pleasing to see it so well supported.

“Not only am I pleased that it’s a Daventry racer who’s won, two years on the trot, but more importantly, that the race continues to grow in popularity.

“This event is a big boost for Daventry and helps to put us on the map. It attracts competitors from all over the country and it might be worthwhile for local businesses to bear that in mind next year by running promotions to coincide with the event.”

Race Director Garry Haynes of Rugby Triathlon Club said: “With a much larger field this year, we are proud that the event ran smoothly and that so many regulars and those new to triathlon enjoyed their experience. Thanks again to Daventry District Council, Daventry Leisure Centre, volunteers and all our sponsors and supporters for making this a great race.”

Age Group Winners for the Daventry Sprint Triathlon were:

Age Group                            Name                                                 Time

U18                                         Jack Bond                                         57:54

                                              Emma Achurch                                1:17:31

18-24                                      Damien Dear                                   1:02:08

                                               Emily Nash                                       1:13:21

25-29                                      Matthew Glenn                                 1:03:31

                                               Tasha Scott                                      1:19:20

30-34                                      Andrew Siggers                                 58:07

                                              Katherine Hodgson                            1:11:03

35-39                                      Jon Overman                                    1:02:06

                                               Nicola Wood                                     1:10:37

40-44                                      Steven Sirman                                 1:07:44

                                               Corinna O’Connor                             1:15:33

45-49                                      Gary Waite                                       1:07:18

                                               Marie Mcloughlin                               1:17:57

50-54                                      Mark Smith                                       1:11:54

                                               Verna Burgess                                 1:17:03

55-59                                      Brian Haycock                                  1:09:18

                                               Annette Carlin                                  1:28:58

60-64                                      Gary Nicholls                                    1:16:00

                                                Lesley Pymm                                    1:36:06

Congratulations also go to the five young triathletes from Rugby Junior Triathlon Club who held their own in their first ‘adult’ race:

James Webb                                                                                   1:18:47

Luke Greenfield                                                                               1:16:07

Aiden McGuirk                                                                                 1:10:51

Hannah Cooper                                                                               1:26:36

Emily Cooper                                                                                  1:30:15

<- Back to News